The New Year

Besides my adventure in felting this year I’ve also been able to embroider quite a bit (and get a few friends into it, which makes me super happy!).

For the FFoF swap over at Phat Quarter I embroidered a Weezer themed piece, this makes three all together that I’ve done.

If you want to destroy my sweater...

Then my best friend, Sheri, had a birthday so I made her a two piece set of Totoro and a Soot Sprite from My Neighbor Tototro.

I also made my friends Chase and Shelley monograms, they are a lot less orangy in real life but my bedroom at home is orange and does weird things to photos.

For my partner, Ryan I embroidered a quote from the action movie “Daylight.” It’s one of those really cheesy Sylvester Stalone movies that are not good but kind of fun to watch. I thought it would be interesting to juxtapose an action quote with the art nouveau border.

Unfortunately I was using weird fabric, it was a flour sack and was just too floppy and stretchy for such a big piece I think.

There is a theme here, most of the work I’ve done this winter has been gifts, I even embroidered something for my tattoo artist in November. I really think it’s great to be able to give someone something I really enjoyed making. It is sad to see my work go though.

For myself, I’m working on a piece from the book Embroidered Effects by Jenny Hart of Sublime Stitching. I’ve been wanting to experiment with patterned fabric, so I got some at JoAnn’s over the break. I also got some glow in the dark thread and need to come up with a project to use it for!

I was going to post my current projects basket, but I think I’ll save that for another post along with my embroidery suitcase!

Keep Stitching!

Leslie

Leave a Reply

