Toffee Time!

As a quick holiday gift I made a couple batches of toffee. I had never made any until now, a co-worker inspired me and convinced me it was easy enough.

I used this recipe:

2 cups butter
2 cups white sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 cups semisweet chocolate chips
1 cup finely chopped almonds

You need a candy thermometer and a good heavy bottomed pot.

First- the butter! I sliced mine up so it would melt nicely.

Then the sugar and the salt.

Mix! Mix! Mix! While these all melt together. I tried a batch not stirring constantly and the butter and sugar didn’t combine well.

Keep stirring until the mixture is somewhere between 285° and 300° . Make sure you measure the middle of the mixture too, as the sides may be cooler or hotter.

When it reaches the right temperature you want to pour it into a pan covered with tin foil or wax paper. The bigger the pan the thinner the toffee. The above picture is the batch that didn’t set up well. You can see the butter all went to the top. I had also put some crushed almonds on the bottom so it would be in the toffee.

After you let it sit for a few minutes you can sprinkle chocolate chips on top. Give them a moment to soften and spread them with a spatula. After that you can sprinkle whatever you want on it. I crushed up some candy canes and put those on the good batch.

Leave a Reply

