Stencil time! Plus a Giveaway!

 In college I got to know an amazing group of women through the GYN clinic we all ran on campus. We lovingly refer to each other as “wemoon”. They are some of the most fantastic feminists I’ve ever met. I don’t get to go see them as often as I’d like so I made some patches inspired by how much I miss them.

I ended up making around 30 patches, some just the feminist symbol, some lightning bolts, and one fancy combo! A few weeks ago I sent one to each of the Wemoon whose addresses I have.

I may make a new header image out of this I love it so much.

I also did some experimenting the lightning bolts and think they came out pretty fantastically.  Perhaps I have a future in amateur printmaking!

I think the stencil itself looks beautiful with all the rainbow paint on it as well.

This is just some store bought stencil paper (thickish plastic). I held it up to my computer screen and traced the design with a thin permanent marker and then used an exacto knife to cut it out (not on my computer screen of course!)

I tried a few methods of painting the stencil but because it is so small and delicate I ended up just using my finger and kind of dabbing the paint on. That way I could push the stencil down to keep it in contact with the fabric so no paint got under.

I have friends who do some serious stenciling and I would love to have a better understanding of multilayered stenciling designs.

I have some extra patches too so to celebrate the leap year I’m doing a give away!

If you would like to have one comment telling me where you would wear or display your patch. Each patch has a lightning bolt side and a feminism symbol side, if that makes a difference to you.

If an astounding amount of people comment I may randomly generate the winners but if not I will send patches to the first 5 or 6 people that comment.  Make sure I have a way to contact you so I can get an address when the time comes!

11 responses to “Stencil time! Plus a Giveaway!

  1. I deserve this.
    I would wear mine on my backpack! all of the burgh would see it :0)

  2. Yay Brianna! I was totally going to send you one anyway! I don’t remember if you ever gave me your address though!

  3. GabriellaIbacache

    I love these, they look really rad. I’d wear mine proudly to every FORTH meeting and of course when I’m rallying to help save the Alt Clinic!! 😀

  4. I want a patch! I can either DIY you a swapsie or give you one from my collection as a swapsie if you want 🙂 miss you love you!

  5. Very cool patches! I would love one! I’d probably put it in a cool frame and hang it in my living room 🙂

    • Maria! if you want to email me your address (leslie.gutkin at gmail) I’ll get your patch in the mail ASAP!

      Leslie

      • Hi Leslie!
        I got your patch in the mail a few days ago. Thank you!!!
        I am sending you a little thank you card back and I plan on posting some pictures of it later with a link it to your fabulous blog 🙂

        Hope all is well!

  6. Yay! I’m so glad you like it!

    Leslie

Leave a Reply

