Creative Commons License

You probably haven’t noticed, because it’s just a small little box on the bottom of the page, but yesterday I added a Creative Commons License badge to my blog.

What does that mean?
I’ve chosen an “Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported” license for my blog. This means you may copy, share, and distribute my work, as well as adapt my work.

However, you must credit me and you may not use the work for commercial purposes without my consent (contact me if you would like to use any of my work commercially and we can probably work something out). If you do create a derivative work you must also use this license- meaning the adaptation of my work cannot be used commercially either.

More details here: Creative Commons.

What content does this pertain to?
Good question! This only pertains to the original content of the Lightning Leslie Blog. I often post content found elsewhere on the web, and give credit to that work whenever possible (if I am ever unable to find the original source, I make that known as well).

Is this really necessary?
Maybe, maybe not. I know this blog only gets a few hundred views a week, but I am proud of the things I write and of the projects I do. I want to share them in a way that I feel comfortable with.

How should I credit you?
The best way to credit me is to link back to my blog. If you’d like, you can also contact me, but that is not necessary, just appreciated.

Leave a Reply

