Mocking Jay Patches

Ryan bought the first book in the Hunger Games series with a gift card he got for the holidays. He read it quickly and then debated getting the second one in hardcover vs. waiting for the paperback. I told him he should wait because it would be cheaper. He bought it anyway and after having read them I understand why!

If you want to hear my feelings on the Hunger Games series (and oh do I have feelings!) you can see my accidental book report I wrote after finishing the third book.

The symbol on the patch I made is a mockingjay. I don’t want to give any spoilers so I won’t explain it any more, but if you read any of the books you’ll understand.

This is the first time I’ve ever done a stencil with more than one layer. The stencil wasn’t perfect but it worked well enough. I did the bird, arrow, and circle in separate parts.

I only made two patches, one for myself and one for Ryan, but I may make more if anyone wants one.

I’d like to try and make a pin as well, perhaps out of a plastic lid of some sort. It wouldn’t be fancy but it would be free, and that’s my favorite kind of thing.

The movie comes out tomorrow (or just the first book) but I’m waiting to go on Sunday with Ryan. Don’t worry I’ll let you know what I thought of it!

Leave a Reply

